Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Spectrum Analyzers.

Status
Not open for further replies.

lord loh.

I have never used a spectrum analyzer before. Now I have got a spectrum analyzer in our college that has no user manual.

It's model is HM 5006 from Hameg. The control on the spectrum analyzer states MHz/div... When I feed signals from the function generator, I see many spikes when I feed in square and sawtooth waves... However, I see no peak corresponding to the fundamental frequency...

I am trying to feed in a few Khz signal...

There is always a peak at the left end of teh spectrum even when there is no input signal or when I short the two terminals of the input.

I am not able to figure how to us the instrument....

Thank you

If you think about it for a minute all of your observations are consistent with the respective input situations.

With no input or the terminals shorted any energy at all will be at DC or very low frequency. Non linear waveforms are rich in harmonic content. A Fourier Analysis of square and triangle waves will demonstrate this observation. Finally a sine wave will produce a strong peak at the fundamental frequency and depending on the amount of distortion peaks of lower amplitudes at the harmonics.

Lastly you might have the instrument because it is compromised or broken and nobody else wants it. You might try to contack the original manufacturer.