Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

SMD components

Status
Not open for further replies.

dr.power

Hello guys.

I have an Oscillator circuit made by discrete components (IC's/ Resistors/Capacitors). the capacitors I have used for the circuit are MKT ones (I used MKT caps for the oscillator because they are Stable and have a good temp/voltage change stability) (The frequency stability of the oscillator's ouput is very important for me).
Anyway I want to change the circuit to SMD. I have no experience with SMD componenets. So the question which arises is That I want to know if All SMD resistors and specially SMD capacitors in the bazar are all the same and Stable to be used as oscillator caps? or I have to use an special one?

They are the same as thru hole ceramic caps and come in X7R and COG. Just harder to read. ;)

They are the same as thru hole ceramic caps and come in X7R and COG. Just harder to read. ;)

Hi and thanks ronv for your reply,

Are you meaning that all of the SMD caps are Ceramic caps? If so can I use them in the oscillator circuits as the oscillators caps?

Thanks

SMD caps come in the same varieties as through-hole caps, may be more.

Ceramic are common as are electrolytic in both aluminum and tantalum. Tantalum SMD's will look very much like ceramic ones, but are usually darker color -- often brown, black or yellow. Aluminum electrolytic caps look like through-hole caps but without legs.

John