Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

quick simple schematic check, please...

Status
Not open for further replies.

grimxneko

hi, im quite new to electronic design and circuitry, but (with the much appreciated help of others) i did just recently design a simple schematic for this project im working on (pictured below), and i just want to get some final opinions on it before i actually put it together. now, the specifications for the two outter columns of LEDs can be seen **broken link removed**, and the two inner columns can be seen here. so, i guess just let me know if i did anything wrong or if you have any other suggestions. thanks.
191-l_d345a86992d24ce982935dd411baa30a.jpg

Your circuit operates the LEDs at or slightly more than their max allowed current so they will probably overheat and fail soon.
The brightness pot will instantly burn out if the brightness is turned up.
The poor little 9V battery will last for only a couple of minutes when the brightness is at max. You will see the battery dimming the LEDs as it quickly runs down.

oh :(
that's pretty dissappointing. so... how would i fix that?
Don't you know how to reduce the current in your LEDs?
Look at Pulse-Width-Modulation for dimming high power LEDs.
Use a much bigger battery that will supply the high current for a longer time.

grimx spend some time learning how to use 555 timers. There's tons of information on them just use Google for 555 LED dimmer.