Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Question about assembly code

Status
Not open for further replies.

daredavel

hello guys! Can anyone tell me about the RAM_START codes? What is the operation RAM_START+1 to 4?? RAM_START operation starts at 0x0c? is that correct? :confused: Sorry guys..i'm new at assembly.. Thanks guys!!

Code:
; RAM registers
ram_start	EQU 0x0c
dcnt0		EQU ram_start+1 ; delay counter 0
dcnt1		EQU ram_start+2 ; delay counter 1
dcnt2		EQU ram_start+3 ; delay counter 2

hello guys! Can anyone tell me about the RAM_START codes? What is the operation RAM_START+1 to 4?? RAM_START operation starts at 0x0c? is that correct? :confused: Sorry guys..i'm new at assembly.. Thanks guys!!

Code:
; RAM registers
ram_start	EQU 0x0c
dcnt0		EQU ram_start+1 ; delay counter 0
dcnt1		EQU ram_start+2 ; delay counter 1
dcnt2		EQU ram_start+3 ; delay counter 2

hi,
I guess a 16F84 PIC.?

Look at this clip from the datasheet, you will see that 0x0c is the start of the user RAM/Register memory block.
AAesp04..gif

Last edited:
what this is doing is defining the ram locations for dcnt0, dcnt1, dcnt2, etc...
RAM_START is 0x0c, therefore, RAM_START+1 is 0x0d... so anytime you use dcnt0, it will use RAM location 0x0d, and 0x0e for dcnt1, etc...