Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Please help to design simple OFF-delay timer

Status
Not open for further replies.

ymmy

I’m completely new at this and need help to design simple low 3-6 voltage OFF-delay timer.
Here is what I need:
1.Power supply would be 3-6volts
2.Timer should not have any buttons and switches, once power applied to the circuit it should activate relay for about 3-5 second and then release relay contacts by cutting off power from relay (time not very critical and can vary plus minus few seconds)
I know it can be accomplished by using single transistor and few capacitors & resistors but I’m never done it on my own plus I’m unable to find something similar on internet. I’ll be appreciated if someone can help or point to right direction.

_________
-------- | 3-5Sec |
3V-6V | Timer | ----->Relay-----Load
-------- | Circuit |

No problem.

Attachments

• relaydelay2.GIF
    relaydelay2.GIF
    1.6 KB · Views: 1,039
Sebi, Thank You a Lot!!! :D Few more questions: Do I still have to use diode and second transistor to amplify signal in case I’ll use 5V Opto relay such as ‘LCA120’ datasheet here: **broken link removed** I think led inside relay draws very little current and probably one transistor would be enough but I’m not sure. What transistor type (maybe part number) would you recommend if I’ll buy it from ‘RadioShack’ store.

Last edited by a moderator:
See the post by John Sorensen dated 9 April 2004 in the Electronic Projects/Design/Ideas/Reviews forum.