1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

No power a home theater doesn’t power can someone tell me if this fuse can be the culprit

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by ic3cold, Dec 25, 2017.

  1. ic3cold

    ic3cold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    0
    BB953536-2CA3-4414-BFDB-D6A797A33A36.jpeg CEBF0046-A4E6-4836-AC7B-6704F72EEAE0.jpeg BC93BC9E-D1F6-4A9A-98F6-9594B08F4DA2.jpeg I have an OEM Home Theater branded Punktal it has a pga circuit and some smt logic too.
    My problen is I’m noot sure if the fuse can be blown as it’s soldered to the board. It’s not powering up so it might be the cause.
     
  2. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,373
    Likes:
    663
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    ONLINE
    It looks like you have a multimeter, so check the fuse - although from the picture it doesn't look to have blown (as far as I can tell visually, from a poor picture).
     
  3. ic3cold

    ic3cold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    0
    Sorry for the picture I'll try to get a better one .. but my impression was too that the fuse looked fine. However is there a way to measure it up on board, or do I have to take it out?
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. dknguyen

    dknguyen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,868
    Likes:
    80
    ONLINE

    If you measure the resistance across it, it should be very close to zero.

    Try measuring the resistance across the leads of some of the larger capcitors near the power supply. Do any of those read zero? They probably shouldn't.
     
  6. Pommie

    Pommie Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    10,276
    Likes:
    354
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    If it's safe to power it up then you can check for a voltage across the fuse. Not sure if AC or DC.

    Edit, a voltage would indicate it is blown.

    Mike.
     

Share This Page