Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

J_Dearth

Hi,

I am very new to the electronics field and am working on a project. I have been surfing the internet for almost three weeks trying to figure this out and have spent over $200 at radio shack on parts and components that are not getting me what I want. (I am sure you are all rolling your eyes at the mention of radio shack but that is right now the only place I can think of to get electrical components). I keep finding my way back to this forum in my search so you all must know what your talking about.

I am needing to wire a set of 10 LED's so that when I hit a switch one light turns on, then when I hit the switch again the second as well as the first light come on, and so on and so forth until all 10 LED's are lit. I also need there to be a second switch that will allow me to shut off the LED's in reverse order when that switch is hit. So in short I would like to push a button and make LED's light up in sequence and be able to shut them off with the push of a different button.

If this is too much non-tech talk I am sorry but I didn't want to appear like I was trying to talk about something like I knew what I was doing when I obviously don't. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I thank you all for any help you can give.

You can accomplish what you want with a up/down counter like the 4029 or the 4510. Check out this link:

4000 series CMOS Logic ICs