Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Most simple frequency meter?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Spadez

Hi,

Im new to electronics but Im planning to make a 16f628A frequency meter coded in assembly. In the future I will expand it to be a tachometer with an LCD readout.

Ive been looking on the internet for a while, and there is certainty no shortage of frequency meters, but there seems to be a huge variation in the code and techniques used to make one. I am trying to find out which is the most simple means of creating one that is able to track up to around 180Hz.

As a starting point, can anyone please tell me the most simple implementation of this, and (if you know of anywhere) post a link to a site that talks about using this method, preferably with some example ASM to help me on my way.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thank you for the reply. Is it fair to say this is the most simple implementation then?

How complicated is it to change to 4 line databus instead of 7?

The circuit looks quite complicated. If I were to use a IR beam break system for the input, do you think the pre-amplification would be needed?

Last edited:
Thank you for the reply. Is it fair to say this is the most simple implementation then?

How complicated is it to change to 4 line databus instead of 7?

Would there be any need to?.

The circuit looks quite complicated. If I were to use a IR beam break system for the input, do you think the pre-amplification would be needed?