1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

memory card/Pen drive interfacing

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Parth86, Nov 22, 2017.

  1. Parth86

    Parth86 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    546
    Likes:
    5
    This is a weird question in my mind. Have you ever connected the memory card to the controller? or Have you ever connected the pen drive to the controller?
    Both are storage device, I have never seen them connecting with the controller. In which situation we will do this
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2017
  2. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,331
    Likes:
    653
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    It's a fairly common requirement, and I've recently been doing just that - connecting an SD card to a PIC microcontroller.

    At this precise moment it's displaying a sequence of photos, other common uses are storage for loggers etc. or for storing webpages on with a small web server, based on an ESP8266 or similar, or for playing MP3's from.

    Basically anything which requires either storing, or retrieving, large quantities of data.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. dr pepper

    dr pepper Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,759
    Likes:
    258
    Location:
    North west UK
    Theres a library for the arduino for sd cards, makes the whole thing fairly simple.
    Esp8266 devices which have wifi built in have large amounts of memory onboard, and with the arduino ide you can use it as a sd card.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Pommie

    Pommie Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    10,161
    Likes:
    340
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia

    I use a Wemos mini (Esp8266) as a server and it has 1Megabyte for code and 3 meg for the file system(SPIFF). I have got an SD shield for it but haven't needed it yet.

    Mike.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. dr pepper

    dr pepper Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,759
    Likes:
    258
    Location:
    North west UK
    You can unsolder the little memory chip and put a bigger one in too.
     
  7. Pommie

    Pommie Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    10,161
    Likes:
    340
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    If you get the Wemos mini pro it comes with 16 meg of memory but you can still only use 1 meg for code. The rest can be setup as a 12M spiff file system. Mine should arrive any day now.

    Mike.
     
  8. dr pepper

    dr pepper Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,759
    Likes:
    258
    Location:
    North west UK
    I put together an online webpage with 3 graphical fuel giages for the 3 silo's we have at work, somewhere on this site theres a screenshot, the esp acted independantly as a webpage and uploaded the page which was written in javascript,html,css.
    All is stored via spiffs in the esp's memory, the guages are updated using ajax.
    At first I tried to do it all with an esp and a arduino using At commands to the esp module, but just couldnt get it to work, then I used the arduino ide and prgrammed the esp directly and got the thing to work well with just the esp, no arduino.
    Beware the esp8266 01 behaves weirdly when signal level is low, they might have sussed that in firmware now, still a good idea to use the signal level meter in the esp though and detect low signal, also good if you have a project permanently online periodically check the connection and reconnect if its lost.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Pommie

    Pommie Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    10,161
    Likes:
    340
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    I assume that esp8266 01 refers to version 1 and the Wemos D1 V2 is OK or does the problem persist?

    Mike.
     
  10. dr pepper

    dr pepper Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,759
    Likes:
    258
    Location:
    North west UK
    Nope the 01 is a different module, I have used the d1v2 but not at long range so I wouldnt know.
     

Share This Page