Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Making inductors...

Status
Not open for further replies.

piyushalbert

Hi.. to all

I am an Electronics student, I usually came across many circuits having inductors, especially the communication circuits.

i want to ask how to make an Inductor of any particular value like xyzHenry., Please tell me in details which gauge wire to use, how many turns, dia of rotation,medium in between etc etc... and also effects of these parameters on inductance values.

Thankyou

How to make inductors? Buy them off of Digi Key, duh! :)

Wire gauge will effect the resistance of the wire, and how much current it can handle, but the number of turns, diameter, and dielectric used in the core will be what will effect the actual rating of the inductor. Inductors work similar to electromagnets, and can be described by using Maxwell's equations.

The only real way to make an inductor is to get a sample and copy it exactly.
As explained above, just knowing the inductance is not enough. You also need to know the resistance of the winding for some circuits. An inductor is one of the most complex and difficult things to make. That's why the simplest discussion would take 100 pages.

Hello there,

There are various little rules of thumb like, the inductance varies as the square of the turns ratio, but it's usually just better to have a formula or two.