Making a wattmeter with 3 digit LED/LCD display

Status
Not open for further replies.

Duke

Hello,

This is my first project in electronics so I will need a lot of advice

I want to output to the current wattage by an amplifier in my car to an LCD or LED display. I'm looking for a simple 3-digit display. I assume that I can tap into the car's voltage somewhere. How can I measure the current from the amplifier? Then, I can multiply these 2 results together to get my wattage.

Will I need a microprocessor to execute the multiplication? Also, I'd like to have a looped timer set to about 250 ms, so that it delivers the output on these intervals.

It's probably a simple project for you guys...but this is new to me and I hope I can do it!

Thanks a lot,
Brian[/b]

Hey Duke,

I think people here are a little stumped on your question, so I will attempt to shed a little light on your problem.

To measure current, there are several methods used. You might want to look into www.allegromicro.com for their non-intrusive hall-effect based current sensors which will put out a proportional voltage. I believe these sensors can measure +/-100A.

Alternatively, you can use a simple sense resistor. This would go in-line with your power supply and you would measure the drop-voltage across it to calculate your current. (Ohms Law!!). Remember to make sure the resistor is the proper wattage (I^2XR or VI) or it will cook.

I am not sure how you would measure your actual wattage to your speakers.. You have to remember that you aren't getting 100% efficiency in your switch-mode power supply (your 12V to a higher +/- voltage) or your actual amplifier. If you know the approximate value of your efficiency here, then it would be possible to get a rough estimate.

I am not to sure about measuring directly from your speakers, maybe somebody else here can help you with that. I would think you would need to consider the output impedance and maximum power transfer to get this, but I am not positive.