Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Making a motor arc?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lieutenant L

Hi Everyone

Im new to using PCBs etc. as I never have really had to use them - and if I have I tried finding kits to build

What im after is a motor PCB circuit which will fit into a model tank for displaying

I would like the turret of the tank to rotate - so to go to the left, reach a point then go back to the beginning position and go to the right and so on

I have a pager motor which i would prefer to use if possible as the motor

However im unsure how to stop the motor doing a full turn - and just arcing on its own ( I want to leave it - knowing it will keep rotating )
I understand about how to slow down RPM using gears

If anyone could help it would be much appreciated ( hopefully there is a way around using a PCB circuit as i dont know how to make one or have equipment to do it )

thankyou
Luke

p.s. im in england if that means anything for resources etc.

Last edited:
Well...you would need to use an H-bridge circuit to allow the reversal of motor current to change direction. You can PWM the control pulse to the H-bridge circuit to achieve speed control.

As to stopping continuous rotation, you are going to need some form of feedback (as complex as encoders), but if all you need is end-to-end movement, perhaps a tactile switch (with debouncer) on both end points is all that is required.