Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Light dependent resistor circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

Discv

Hi, I'm new to your interesting forum- and a complete plank with electronics.
So I am looking for advice.
Hopefully I have managed to attach a circuit given to me.
Problem is- I think- that the LDR in the circuit is about 10 ohms [light] and 25k [dark]

All I can get hold of is [typically] 10k [light] and 0.1M [dark]

So I reckon that components need jiggering.

ANY help would be welcome.

Try changing the pot from 2k5 to 100k.
The circuit shown will trigger the 555 when the LDR goes dark. If you want triggering to occur when the LDR goes light just swap the LDR and pot positions.

Most LDRs have dark resistance in the 100M ohm region. 100K sounds more like twilight, not pitch black dark.

Thanks to both above. Could you advise as to a spec. that I should look for in selecting a LDR

Hi,

If you don't mind using a LM358 here is a circuit that I found on the net a few years ago.

And the application I made with it.

Attachments

• PhotoCellSch.jpg
    PhotoCellSch.jpg
    35.3 KB · Views: 183
  • PhotoCellSch PEBBLE.jpg
    0 bytes · Views: 5
Last edited:
That is not a good schematic,w LDR connecting to pin 2. I have a better and simpler using 555. I will post it tomorrow.

Gajanan Phadte

For a not good schematic, it is working pretty darn well!

I was using it with a cheap laser pointer at 4 to 5 meter away while expirementing.