Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Let's talk MPLAB directives

Status
Not open for further replies.
Alright -- I've been coding in PIC ASM for probably 6 or 7 months now. I still don't have a real clue what a lot of the MPLAB directives mean. I see them in sample code sometimes, and I'll occasionally read up on them, but mostly I just don't understand (seems like a trend with me, ha). I feel like I'm missing something by not understanding how to use these directives.

Here is some info I've copied from a tutorial -- with my questions below.

Code:
[B]DA[/B] Syntax: DA <expr> [, <expr2>, ...,<exprn>] This directive generates a packed 14-bit number representing two 7-bit ASCII characters. This is useful for storing strings in program memory.
Lett DA "abcdef" ; stores the string "abcdef" into memory 
; ... which can be accessed at label Lett

[B]DATA[/B] Syntax: DATA <expr> [, <expr2>, ...,<exprn>]
or DATA "<string>" [, "<string>", ...] Initialize one ore more words of program
memory with data. The data may be in the form of constants, relocatable or external labels or expressions of any of the previous. The data may also consist of ASCII character strings, enclosed in single quotes for one character or double quotes for strings.
Num DATA num+10 ; constants
Lett DATA "test string" ; text string
Char DATA ’N’ ; single character
Startp DATA start_of_prog ; relocatable label