Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

LCD Frequency Meter

Status
Not open for further replies.

InfernoJaffa

Hi everyone!

I have a project that i need help on starting.

I have a flow transducer that outputs a frequency range which changes at different water flow rates.

I would like to convert this frequency output into a litre/minute calculation on a LCD display.

I am a novice, any tips or directions? Any help is welcome!

If you check the EPE website, they have published a number of counter projects, or MicroChip have an appnote for a frequency counter.

Hi Nigel,
Thanks for your reply, I have looked at the microchip appnote using a PIC16C54 and found that the source code snippet is written in assembly language. I have done little assembly at college but feel that the C language would be a wiser choice for me. I also tried searching for the EPE website you had mentioned and found a site called EPEMag, was this the one you meant? I couldn't find much on that website.

I have found other projects using an Atmel chip with easy to understand source codes although programming the chip will not be easy. I would like to design the PCB board to include on-board programming as this will be easier to reprogram in the future (this should be a simple addition at the end).

The PIC chips I used at college were PIC16F84A and were programmed in assembly language.