Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

l298 get very hot with only 0.7a

Status
Not open for further replies.

atntias

hi im running a dc 12 water pump with ~15V with pwm from a pic.
im using the l298 for it, and its in parallel mode (until 4A), i made a small board for the l298 (schematics attached), and this is my first time driving big motors, now the l298 get very hot even at 20% by the pwm (i cant touch it for more then a second) so is that normal? and i must use a heatsink? and if i do i would like it to be a small as possible so how would i know what big enough?

olso any comment on how to improve the circuit will be great, cus i made it up by myself from date sheet i dont know if its the best way....

thanksss

Attachments

• 1.png
    1.png
    9 KB · Views: 1,826
Last edited:
If I calculated the power dissipation properly for 0.7A, it's either running at 40C or 80C without a heatsink. If you can touch it for a second then my guess it would be 40C (maybe?). Anyways, use a heatsink. THe only way to size a heatsink is to hunt through the thermal resistance info in the datasheet and the power dissipation of the driver, and then find a heatsink with the power dissipation and thermal resistance that you want.

Technically "being too hot to touch" is a fairly poorly measure as to how hot is too hot for drivers (a lot of them can run at 85C and even higher which is quite a bit too hot for a human anyways).

Last edited: