Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Information Please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Milk

I am extremely new to electronics, and currently know very little. I am taking a class next month to begin my learning. I am attempting a few projects to get my feet wet, hands on is the best way to learn :D . I am gathering up parts for the Garage Door Hacker project, and am having trouble finding the "CD4040BE 12 stage binary counter IC." I really have no idea what any of the numbers mean or anything. I am trying to see if I can find an IC like this off of old salvaged parts that I have, but am not sure what exactly to look for. I found this IC from an old radio that has the numbers KA2248A 950B, and has the same number of pins as the one I'm looking for. I am wondering if there is any way to tell if this is what I need, or if this is an in-house labeling system and impossible to tell.

Is there some kind of universal list for the numbers I am given? Sorry if this is all very funny. :oops:

What country are you in? In Australia, there are a variety of stores, eg. Dick Smith, JayCar, Altronics and the international companies such as RS Components, Farnel, etc. They all have web sites.

The 4060 is a CMOS counter, if you post the circuit (or the part of it containing the 4060) we may be able to assist. It may be possible for you to use either the 4020 or 4040.