Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

HP Ink cartridge

Status
Not open for further replies.

artur83

I am doing a project where I need to have an ink cartridge to spew out ink droplets whithout it being connected to the printer. I'd prefer HP cartridges since they're smaller and cheaper. I only need the black to do it.
So what electrodes should I connect to? What voltage/amps? frequency? AC/DC? I am new to electronics. Thank you very much for your responses.

from what I have observed.
the cartridge has 6 rows of electrodes. and 3 colors.. so it would make sense that each row is for 1 color. except that there is a odd number of electrodes, but perhaps 1 of them is ground.?

and some electrodes share a connection (meaning that they're not exclusively connected to a single print hole).

I will be counting the print nozzels next to try to form a theory on the relationship between the electrodes and the nozzels.

I wish someone would know something on this subject.

maybe you could print out a totally yellow, then red, then blue page.

get a voltmeter, and take the part that connects to the ink cartridge and just start measuring the voltages.

first find out which one(s) are ground, then go to town drawing a diagram.

another alternative would be to blindly apply voltage to the connections and see which ones squirt ink :lol:

did u check google for pinout diagram?

also, it would be very helpful to learn how this part of the printing process works.