Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

motor driven dispensing cartridge

Status
Not open for further replies.

hugh111111

Hi, I have no background/knowledge in electronics but I'd like to start a project as a learning exercise but also to fill a genuine need at work. I'd appreciate any advice that will point me in the right direction. I'm a total newbie.

I'd like to dispense a two component epoxy into a mould. At the moment I use a two component cartridge but this will only allow a fixed mixing ratio because the dispensing gun I use drives the plungers into the cartridge barrels at the same rate - the mixing ratio is determined by the volume of the barrels relative to each other (See attached image). Screw fed.jpg

I'd like to be able to vary the mixing ratio and I believe the best way to achieve this is to control the rate at which each plunger is fed into its cartridge barrel. If i had two threaded bolts attached to motors then the speed of the motor will determine the rate at which the bolt pushes on the plunger as it feeds through the cartridge barrell.

So the way I see it, I need two variable speed motors and also an interface/control dial/software from which I can set the motor speeds for each motor. I'd welcome any ideas to get me started. What type of motor do I need how do I interface the motor with a control device? Thanks for your help.

I would use a linear stepper motor like this one. https://www.mpja.com/Stepper-Motor-Linear-NEMA-17-15A/productinfo/31564 MS