Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Hooking up LED lights turn on like dome lights

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deski12

Hey everyone,

Electronics newbie here so I got some questions for you pros. I finished a project of replacing my headliner in my 2000 Cherokee XJ with a tapestry of a galaxy. Something different but looks real amazing! Even did the sun visors to match! After I got the headliner back in, I had this great idea to put some lights in the headliner to look like stars. What I'm looking to do is when I open the door, the lights (or stars) come on just like the dome lights. So my question is, how can I make this happen?

I've found these small LED "fairy lights" which look perfect for the job
**broken link removed**

I bought a smaller strain so I could use it as a guinea pig. I just tried to hook them up to the back dome light. Shoving the wires into the slots of the connector and nothing. I tried just touching the wires from the lights to the metal were the bulb goes and it would light up for a tiny second but go off. I feel like I might have burned out the LEDs. I'm still not sure which wire I have to hook it up to make it work. The lights used a battery pack, using 3 AA batteries so it's only using 4.5 volts.

Is that too little for them to work off the dome light?

Here's a pic of the wires from the fairy lights
OmskR0Q.jpg

Here's the wires from the center dome light and the back dome light
cJFLaF5.jpg
lq3pIc3.jpg

Hi Deski,