Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

homemade morse cw practice keyer

Status
Not open for further replies.

heathtech

Hi folks,
Maybe someone can help me out. I downloaded a morse code training shareware that requires a cw keyer with a mono jack connected to the mic input of a computer soundcard.
Since I am studying morse, I wanted to build my own keyer. I happened to have an old tone generator that creates a nearly square audible AC waveform at about 810 Hz, which is designed to test speakers. Cheap little gadget that I never use anyway, so I wired up a momentary pushbutton switch to the input, and a mono jack to the output. I plug it into the mic input, and I have a pretty decent practice keyer as far as creating a tone goes. However, for some reason the software is having a very difficult time recognizing the cw. Several possibilities swirl through my head: Does the software require a sinusoidal signal? Is the 3 volts output enough? Is the frequency
inappropriate? Does anyone familiar with this have any ideas?

3v output is more than enough.

When you say that its having a hard time, do you mean that it works sometimes, or it has never worked?

One possibility is that the software is not looking at the right input. Perhaps its looking at line in instead of mic in. Thats just an example, it could be looking at a number of different inputs instead of the right one.

Can you record the sound on your computer?

3V input to your mic input !!
are you trying to blow your sound card??