Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Homemade line alarm

Status
Not open for further replies.

CP176

Hello All
I am a mechanic by trade and I don’t have much experience in electronics. I am trying to make an audible line alarm powered by 8- 1.5v aa batteries. I have a 6-28v alarm, key switch, 2n2222 transistor in a TO-18 package and an RY12W-K 12v signal relay. I plan on installing this in a double gang aluminum outlet box lined with spray-on rubber for insulation just in case. The “lines” are AV cable terminated by an AV connector soldered together (outside to inside) if you will. Sorry for the wording as I dont know the correct terminology. I will be using multiple AV cords and the general idea is that when one cord is seperated from the next, the alarm will sound. I am not sure how to wire in the transistor and the signal replay in with everything else. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks I’m advance.

Should be possible, but you need to couple your sense signal to the cable without affecting the signal that's already there.

What is the signal that is already on the cable?
What are the connectors?
What are the equipment/devices that it runs between?

84C61C77-E5D8-4D26-9648-F0F32E4215BA.jpeg
2BB2AFBE-3A46-4FAD-9A98-8A195DFBA9F9.jpeg

The aluminum box is what I made and the plastic box is what I am trying to replicate. Upon further inspection of the plastic alarmist has what I think is a diode connected in the circuit as well as the transistor.