Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

hi

Status
Not open for further replies.

number-g

hi,
i have an idea for a project to control a circuit with a serial port but i need some pointers on how to actually make the circuit i need.

i am completely new to circuit design but i have a [very] rough knowledge of how it works.

basically, i want 6 solenoids, and to be able to turn them on/off in any combination using a standard pc serial port.

as i said, im completely new to this, but as far as i can guess, what i want to do is going to be similar to bit encoding, except physically. i understand that it could be done by varying a current, and that current being reisisted/let through at different levels to activate different parts of the circuit. but thats about as far as i got before realising i had no idea how to do it :)

any help and information would be much appreciated.
-g

well, the easiest way to control 6 relays is to use the paralel port.
you can control them with the serial, but you need much more complicated circuitry. for 3 relays, it is easy with the serial, but gets very complicated with more.
i suggest u use the printer(parallel) port. it is much easier to interface, and easier to program.
for the parallel port this is a good place to start: http://www.hut.fi/Misc/Electronics/circuits/parallel_output.html

thanks for the info