Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Hi! Newbie here and im after some help with a 12v Delay-Relay circuit.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ryanrs

Hi, I have a car project that i have been working on for the past 4 years and i have a small electrical dilemma, i have been recommended this forum by a fellow car hobbyist on another forum and i hope you can help me :D

Basically i have 4 fairly large 12v fans that need to operate constantly whilst the engine is running. Two control flow through the engine bay and the other two control flow over an intercooler system. Now the problem i have is i have these fans wired into the ignition via a relay which means they will spool up as soon as the ignition is live. This draws a lot of current and the car experiences a massive voltage drop when cranking the engine.

What i would like is a Delay-Relay circuit of some sort that will delay the switching 'On' of the fans for a few seconds while i start the car. So basically when i turn on the ignition, i get 15 seconds or so to allow the fuel pump to prime and be able to start the car before the fans kick in.

Now i must let you all know, my understanding of electronics is good although my knowledge is not that vast so therefore if this is a complicated circuit, i may need a little bit of extra explaining on how it works.

Hope someone can help!

Thanks
Ryan

This can be done using a 555 timer and a relay.

Attachments

• 555 delay on..GIF
    555 delay on..GIF
    3.1 KB · Views: 1,089