Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

GPS Speed Camera Warning Project

Status
Not open for further replies.

cx1

Hi All

I am about to embark upon the January 2005 project from Everyday Practical Electronics which is a Speed Camera Warning Box. An ambitious project But being a poor lorry driver I cant afford the 400 quid for a road angel etc.
It works by using GPS and programmable pics lots of other bits and all for under £100 - thats the plan!

I am going to document my progress here so that any like minded novices may have some referance point to any mistakes I may make.

Having read through the article I concluded that i needed a Pic Programmer.

No sweat a trip down to my local maplins yeilded a 25 quid velleman kit . Could be useful in the future
Started Building it today took a break after getting as far as soldering the ic sockets in 8)

I am now going to the pub for a Pint and a Cigar.
Catch up with you later

Job done

Finished soldering this evening and spent the past 2 hours disecting CYBOT got lots of interesting bits and pieces especially a double 7 segment display

this could be used to display the vehicle speed on the camera watch using the speed output signal from the GPS module - does anyone have any ideas what circuitrty would be needed to incorporate this into the project perpaps as a stand alone board in the box.

Anyway back to the pic progammer forgot to pick up a com lead so will have to wait until tommorrow to test my soldering skills!!!? :|

Re: Job done