Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Function Generator purchase advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

ampedtech

Hope all are well today

Any words, good or bad, about this generator, would be greatly appreciated before I whip out the card.

Perhaps you would care to tout a different generator for quality or more or better features.

I am a hobbyist with no specific project in mind.

Wavetek Function Generator (60 MHZ) FY 6900​

1639941111882.png

Speaking from a position of no direct experience of that particular generator...
Wavetek have been in the function generator business for a long time, and have usually made reasonable equipment.

However, looking on the interwebs I found an identical looking generator, the FeelTech FY6900, which has been reported by a couple of people as having problems.

Others seem to have no problem with it.

I am guessing that it is a design which has been badge engineered by various companies.

As a general purpose signal source it will probably be fine
However, as a hobbyist, if your scope of interest includes radio, you will probably find that the output level and direct signal leakage from the case make it unsuitable for meaningful testing of receivers.

JimB

I have several. All I know of, do not make a square wave at maximum frequency. At 60mhz it looks like a sine wave. Even on the really costly generators.