Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Frequency Synthesizer using PLL

Status
Not open for further replies.

yoboy

Hi there, im a noob here.. i need help in designing and building a PLL frequency synthesizer using a PLL IC. I am planning on using 74HC4046, even though the only info i know about this ic is that it has superior phase comparator sections. The minimum required synthesizer’s specifications are as follows.

Frequency range: up to 10 MHz or better
Output voltage range: 0 to 5 V

Any form of help will be much much appreciated :)

First, some questions:

- do you want sine or square wave output?
- what is the low end of the frequency range that you need?
- what will it be used for?

Next, some tips. First of all, you may find that, while the 4046 is a good choice for a basic PLL operating at one frequency, your circuit will get somewhat complicated when you make it synthesize many frequencies. At the least, this will require several counter ICs. So, to make things easier, have a look at some synthesizer chips that include all the necessary logic into one part. You'll be happy to know that they all use the same structure of superior phase detector as found in the 4046.

A good starting point is an old part that I used back in the late 70's. Its old, but easy to use and quite reliable. Here it is:
https://www.electro-tech-online.com/custompdfs/2009/02/MC145151-2.pdf