Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Frequency standard, radio 4 or msf?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dr pepper

Most Helpful Member
I want to build a frequency standard, not too bothered about the actual frequency, maybe 1 mhz, for callibrating my test gear and maybe connecting up to my frequency counter (would need surgery), also I have a pendulum master clock from a bt telephone exchange that I'd like to sync too.
I've seen these rubidium oscillators on ebay, however I suspect that these are probably toward the end of their lamp life.
I have a schematic for syncing a 10mhz xtzl osc to radio 4, here in the uk is broadcast on 198kc and the carrier is locked to an atomic standard.
I've also considered building a receiver for the msf time code signal on 60kc, but I dont know if I'd be able to get that to work well as the transmission uses amplitude shift keying, I thought of just receiving the signal and then squaring it, but I suspect theres going to be issues with noise with the signal strength all over the place.
I have built several unusual clocks using a symtrick msf receiver, I get a good signal as I'm about 40 miles from the tx.
Any suggestions?

If MSF at Anthorn is in your back yard, go for it.

Simply amplifying and squaring the carrier will not work well.
I have an MSF frequency standard which I built a couple of years ago, it is based on a design in the RSGB magazine RADCOM from April/May 1994.
The design is a bit dated now, but does work.