Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Electronic Noise and Analysis (Experts please help)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Optikon

Ok so I'm currently studying techniques to model, analyze and reduce electronic circuit noise. I'm still very much an amateur in this area and I have a fundamental question. Can someone please clear up the following argument in noise modeling?

Consider a resistor component and the thermal noise component.

The noise model can be a noiseless resistor in series with a noise voltage source or in parallel with a noise current source. In the case of noise voltage, Et = SQRT(4*k*T*R*B) where B is bandwidth of interest, T is temp, k is boltz const and Et is the mean noise voltage.

Now the question. If one considers a very large R and a very large bandwidth, the noise voltage will be accordingly high. If 2 such resistors are connected in parallel (with no other source present) an intuitive thought would be that a noise current will circulate around them(assume uncorrelated).

This would be incorrect! according to the literature and common sense. This situation does not represent a real power source. The thermal noise is physically caused by thermal agitation of the electrons and that acts against the resistance to generate the noise voltage at the terminals but a NET current flow will not exist into and out of the component.

This I understand..