1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Downloading Electronics Software

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Pilot, Feb 28, 2003.

  1. Pilot

    Pilot New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    191
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Within some threads the same problem has kept appearing.

    When someone is downloading a large file - eg. Eagle software - via a 56k connection then when the connection drops out you lose the file and have to start again.

    Use a download manager such as Getright from www.Getright.com

    As most (thankfully) servers will allow resumption of interrupted downloads this will allow you automatically resume the download with only a 4k rollback (approx).

    I used to use this all the time before I went cable and it saved a lot of time and frustration.

    Now you have NO reason NOT to download that demo of Workbench while your tucked up in bed.

    Have fun and Enjoy

    :lol: :lol:
     
  2. bogdanfirst

    bogdanfirst New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,310
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Ramnicu Valcea, Romania
    are you saying this softwar is good?
    do you recommend it. what i want to ask is if you can do these with it:
    1.stop and resume a download, even after turned off the computer, start the download today and finish it next week?
    2. allow multiple downloads?
     
  3. hantto

    hantto Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    380
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Finland
    1. Yepp you can!
    2. As many as you like!

    And one fine thing is that you can download the same file from multiple mirrors at the same time!
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. kinjalgp

    kinjalgp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    INDIA/USA

    I use download accelerator plus from www.speedbit.com. It says it can boost your downlaod speed upto 300% and yes it does. Donwloads are quite faster than normal windows ones.
     
  6. bogdanfirst

    bogdanfirst New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,310
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Ramnicu Valcea, Romania
    what about the fact that i have a speed limit of 128KB/s from my isp, and downloads normally go around 90-100KB/s ?
    can i get more than 128K?
     
  7. kinjalgp

    kinjalgp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    INDIA/USA
    Well, I can't say anything about it. Why don't you try it and see.
     
  8. bogdanfirst

    bogdanfirst New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,310
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Ramnicu Valcea, Romania
    well, i'll try when i have time to download the software.
    anyway, i am satisfied with what i get.
     
  9. Prof.Insane

    Prof.Insane New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    48
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    DSL

    Just get DSL. 60KBytes/sec.

    Modems is olde.
     
  10. Pilot

    Pilot New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    191
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Prof.Insane

    You are right that modems are old. However not everyone, even within the UK, has access to cable/dsl etc for various reasons. As you move to different parts of the globe you will find that some places are lucky if a telephone is available.

    I'm OK as I have a 1M connection - soon to be 1M5.

    Others are not so fortunate so software such as this helps.
     
  11. bogdanfirst

    bogdanfirst New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,310
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Ramnicu Valcea, Romania
    well you got a 1MB/s connection, and i think it works fine...really well.
    i got a 128KB/s and it is ok with me, especially because here most people have modems, and you are lucky if you get a 5-6K download speed, and if you caonnect in 2 minutes.
    to me it is enuogh.
    but who wouldnt want a 1.5M line?
    by the way, how much do you pay for that?
     
  12. Pilot

    Pilot New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    191
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    England
    but who wouldnt want a 1.5M line?
    by the way, how much do you pay for that?

    I don't WANT a 1M5 line.

    For my business I have multiple lines coming in and they are being upgraded. The fibre optic coming in is being replaced due to age and required repositioning.

    For being a good customer - make lots of phone calls, send lots of faxes, spend lots of money with them, they are uprating the connection at no extra cost.

    If you think about it, it costs my supplier the same to provide 500K,1M or 1M5. They just use this to try and make the customer feel 'special. I think it's a pile of Bull***t because I'm allready paying for it.
     
  13. cmstein

    cmstein New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Brazil
    I prefer to use other program:
    FlashGet - www.amazesoft.com/
    You can try NetAnts - www.netants.com

    These programs are free (adware).

    []
    cmstein
     
  14. hantto

    hantto Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    380
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Finland
    And ANYTHING that contains an ad-ware or spy-ware YOU SHOULD NOT DOWLOAD!!! Do you think it's fun when they eat up all your brandwith and memory? and all they do with it is that they send more spam, ads and s**t to you! And Getright doesn't (anymore) contain a single one!

    And to help you all who think that they have an ad-ware, download Ad-Aware http://www.lavasoft.de/software/adaware/ it's an efficient ad-ware and spy-ware remover and its free!
     

Share This Page