Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Does this component exsist?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sheriff

Hi I am an electrician with a basic understanding of electronics. I am looking for a component that will only allow a circuit to flow when a certain amount of current is present.
For example the circuit would remain open until more than 20mA was present. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated

Hi I am an electrician with a basic understanding of electronics. I am looking for a component that will only allow a circuit to flow when a certain amount of current is present.
For example the circuit would remain open until more than 20mA was present. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated

No, your question makes no sense, if a circuit is open, then 20mA can't flow.

Assuming you want to close an entirely different circuit when 20mA flows in the first one, then it's fairly easy - but really application specific.

Its tricky for me to explain but what i am trying to do is protect the appliance from test voltages like the insulation resistance test across L and N. This test is carried out at 500v 10mA so i am trying to divert this away from the appliance to avoid damage. but when normal 230v is present i want the circuit to operate as normal