Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

DIY DC motor Trouble 7th Grade Science Fair

Status
Not open for further replies.

wparkera

Hey All,
I have been working in our school's new innovation lab, teaching the kids how to reproduce small dc motors that i have been designing for a few years.

the first real complication that I am facing is with the soldering of the coils of magnetic wire to the commutator.

I purchased sheets of pure copper, and the solder just doesn't want to stick. I realize that I should probably leave photos with my explanation, but I left the motors at the school.

I am wondering if anybody has any advice about make a connection for a magnetic wire to a thin strip of copper.

A video i discovered online recommended sanding the copper sheet down to a light pink which I will try in the morning. But I'd appreciate any and all ideas,
as I can't really afford too much of a delay as we plan to resume work on Tuesday.

it look just like this motor in the photo attached except that I used copper for the commutator.
Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• motor.png
    motor.png
    1.6 MB · Views: 138
First, magnet wire has a polyester or polyurethane coating so it must be scraped, sanded or otherwise removed.

second, Thick sections of copper metal conduct heat EXTRMELY well. You'll need a bigger, higher wattage soldering iron to warm up a spot. Solder doesn't flow and "wet-out" a copper surface until the copper
- is hot enough.