Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

design idea for micro controller

Status
Not open for further replies.

Parth86

I am student I am planning to design 8 bit controller on computer but solid confused where to start I have little knowledge about controller
micro controller
cpu + memory
where cpu make with alu and control unit
cpu=alu + control unit
ALU =arithmetic + logic unit
airthmetic= adder+sub+mult+divider
logic unit= and gate , or gate , nand gate and so on...
and above all make with transistor and other.......

now I know how controller make but I don't have idea how to arrange the all part of controller example I know I want to make 8 bit controller but don't know following

1) how many bit are required to make CPU
2) how many bit are required to make ALU
3) how many bit are required to make decoder

I just want to hint how to decide bit for every part of controller

If you are making a 8 bit controller than the CPU should be 8 bits wide. The ALU should be 8 bits and the decoder......why not 8 bits.

Normally yes.
There are examples where the data path and the instructions path are different sizes.
They do not have to be the same. or even the same memory.
There are parts where the data memory and the instruction memory are separate.

For a class project you could build a computer where the data is 8 bit but only have 16 instructions so you only need 4 bit instruction memory, and 4 bit instruction decoder.

Normally yes.