Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Current Regulator w/ FET, NPN transistors

Status
Not open for further replies.

stryker1080

Hi everyone, I am a mechanical engineer who is in need of help! I am designing an underwater flashlight which will be using Luxeon high power leds. I have found a driver circuit which uses FET and NPN transistors and i was hoping someone can help me disect it a bit.

I have done a bit of research so i have a basic understanding of how NPN and FET transistors work, but i was hoping someone can just clarify a few things. I have attached the circuit drawing.

Basically at the end of the day, i want to limit the current going through the LEDs to 1A. My understanding of how this circuit is supposed to work is this:

- The bottom right resistor is chosen so that when maximum wanted current is going through it, the voltage drop is equal to the "turning on" voltage of the NPN (ie. ~.5V) . So I need a I=V/R => 1 = 0.5/R = > R = 0.5 Ohm
- When the circuit draws too much current, the NPN transistor opens up and the current goes mainly through the NPN transistor instead of the FET and it limits the current? THe reason i have trouble understanding this is because i read that FET transistors are voltage regulated, and in order to minimize the curretn going through the FET a -ve voltage is needed?
- How do you calculate the voltage drop going through a transistor? Is there any voltage drop?
- How do you select the resistance of the Top Left resistor?