Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Creating a wireless power switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

mb83

Hi all,
Im a newbie to the site but have had a browse around and got some great info on here.
The reason for signing up is im undertaking a small project and need some ideas/advice on how best to go about it.

The idea is i this. I have a motorbike which has no ignition barrel due to it being wrecked previously. So what i currently have is a switch set up to give me main power and light's power.
What i want to creat is a wireless switch to activate the main power BEFORE those 2 switches.
Now i see the easiest way of this is to get hold of a car Central locking unit and use that as the Wireless receiver, but as far as im aware this only send's a pulse when activated.
Looking into it i think i would need to send this pulse to a latching relay or possibley an impule relay?

As the power through the relay would need to stay continuously on until switched off rather then pulsing open and closed.

does that make sense?

Apart from that i have no idea, i dont really know what a latching relay is or how to wire one up, hence why im here :D .

Any advice/info or other ideas on how to get the same effect would be greatly appreciated

Mike :)

Last edited:
I assume this is to provide an ignition lock.