Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Confirming whether this circuit will work

Status
Not open for further replies.

MeatySteak

Hi,
I am very new to circuits, as probably evident by the basicness of this one, and am especially new to LEDs. I bought some LEDs, specs are advertised as 3v, 20mA. So pretty standard. I'll link them down below this. They do come with their own resistors pre-wired, but I wanted to move things around. The pre-wired resistors are 1500ohm metal film, and there is one per resistor as you would expect. I'm using a 12v power supply, and as long as my calculations are correct, that would mean that the LED would receive 6mA of current each, well below the advertised 20mA. This setup does work however, 6mA seems to be enough to power it well enough. I'm assuming 20mA is just the maximum current aloud without it burning out.

So, what I wanted to do was instead of having a resistor for each LED, have only one to control multiple LEDs, specifically one for the blue ones and one for the white ones. I attached a very rough picture of what I plan on doing along with the basic calculations to figure out the resistance for the resistors. Hopefully I have everything right and it makes sense. Just want to confirm whether this will in fact work or if what I have done is just stupid.