Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

circuit info please

Status
Not open for further replies.

paulyt5966

hi,i have built this circuit but im not sure how it works as im just a hobbyist so could some one please explain how the transistor makes the transformer oscillate,the transformer is a audio 100ohm to 1kohm with centre tap,the transistor is a tip41c and the diode from base to emitter is 1n914,the input is 9v dc battery and if i connect a high voltage capacitor across the secondry it will charge it to around 330v which i dont think is bad for such a simple circuit.[/i]

Attachments

• transformer_648.jpg
    transformer_648.jpg
    59.8 KB · Views: 1,122
so all the experts on this site and no one can explain to me how this circuit works,sorry if its a waste of time but i like to not just build the circuits i get from books and the net but to understand how they work thats what its all about isnt it?

It's a simple blocking oscillator.

To oscillate a circuit requires positive feedback, and a gain greater than one - in this circuit the tapped primary provides the positive feedback, and the transistor provides the gain.

The drawback of this type of oscillator is that it uses a fairly expensive transformer, but when you need the transformer anyway (to step the voltage up), it's no longer a problem (except you require a transformer with a tapped primary!).

I looked at it and noticed that the transistor turns-on quickly due to the positive feedback through the transformer.