Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Anyone have on of these?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andy1845c

I bought some of these from electronics glodmine
https://www.goldmine-elec-products.com/prodinfo.asp?number=G9987

I got the red to light with my 12v power supply, but I can't figure the green out. Does anyone have one and know how to supply it in order to make it light green? There is a description of the leads on the EG's site, but being a novice, i'm not quite sure what to make of it. I thought white was ground, but it dosn't seem to work that way. any insight would be great:)

Thanks!!!!

Guessing the white wire is common/ground/negetive. Let see red leds - red wire, so the green wire must be for the green leds. The ad says the reds need 13.2 volts, so 12 volts would likely be okay, just not max. brightness. The greens need 19.0 volts, so 12 volts ain't going to get it, sorry.

I don't have one but the ad text is pretty clear, you need 19V for the green. also, It's kind of wierd in that the text says that its a common anode device (+ leads are connected). Your power supplies need to be negative supplies. so use a 7912 (or LM337 set for 13.2) voltage regulator for the reds and an LM337 set for 19V for the greens. see the datasheet for circuit details. You probably dont need a huge filter cap if that's all you are powering.

As usual, goldmine leaves out important details but I suspect the current draw is 80mA for the greens and 40 mA for the reds