Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Air blade hand dryer - Aike GS-2006H

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cogitosus

Hi folks,

I noticed a fault on this unit in my local coffee shop, so I offered to fix it. After all I've lots of experience, how hard could it be?

**sigh**

So the issue is that when the dryer is first powered on it runs immediately and the timer counts down from 10 seconds to 0. However the dryer continues to run for about 10 seconds more and then shuts down with a flashing error LED and displaying E2, which means "Take your hands out of the dryer!"

It seemed so simple. After all it's just a motor, a heater and s timer, the whole thing triggered by an infra-red LED and a photo-transistor. Unfortunately I opened up the electronics and found this:

AfgnVS

Sorry, for some reason I can't seem to embed a Flickr image, so please forgive the attachment.
Basically there's a helluva lot of stuff in there. The power semiconductors on the heatsink drive the DC brushless motor at a quite spectacular speed of 30,00+ RPM (I believe). The rest of the kits seems seriously over-complex for what the machine does, but the build quality is very high. Unfortunately that means that the entire board is lacquered on both sides to prevent corrosion.