Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

240 led display sign

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alex99

I am a complete beginner in electronics and started 3 weeks ago to build a display sign with leds forming letters on a foam board. (each in parallel with each a 330 ohm resistor on the positive lead)
On a breadboard i succeeded in making a circuit with a 555 chip and a 4017 chip because I would like the first word (four-lettered, about 80 leds) to flash as a whole and the second word (8 letters of about 20 leds each) to flash sequentially. I power it with a wall-mart. I placed one led to represent the first word, out of the 555, and 8 leds to represents the letters of the second word, and it flashes nicely. :)
Now I am stuck because I need to amplify the power out of the ics, I think. I tried to place a 2n2222 transistor out of one of the pins of the 4017, with a 1.5 k resistor before and replaced the led with a flash light bulb rated 500 mAmps (I don´t want to test it directly on my sign and risk losing hours of soldering work) but it does not light up. :confused:
the I left the transistor in place and put back the led instead of the bulb and it flashes.
I imagine I need 500 mAmps for each letter, and about 1.6 Amp for the first word, but I cannot figure what transistor to use.
Maybe I can connect the load directly to the power source and then power the circuit with a battery ? Is that possible ?
I would be very thankful for some help