Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Make signal lights for the AC outlet

ningole

Hello guys!
If this post is in the wrong place, please let me know and I will move it to the appropriate place or delete it.
I'm an electronics newbie and want to make an indicator light for an outlet but I'm not familiar with circuits, so I hope you can help!
My need is to make a 110/220V AC power indicator light:
AC power source -> A plug -> connected to 1 outlet.
On the outlet, choose 1 of 2 options:
1. Use 2 LEDs: 1 red and 1 green. The red LED corresponds to the left outlet pin, and the green LED corresponds to the right pin. If the hot wire is on the right pin, the green LED is on and the red LED is off. Conversely, if the hot wire is on the left, the green LED is off and the red LED is on.
pa1-en.jpg

2. Use only one 3-pin blue and red LED. If the hot wire is on the right, the LED should light up green. Conversely, if the hot wire is on the left, the LED should light up red.
pa2-en.jpg

I have read about ways to prevent reverse polarity, diode bridge, or using mosfet... but most of them are used for DC. With limited knowledge, I don't understand much.
So I would like to ask whether at least one of the above two options is feasible and if so, how can the circuit be designed? Hope you guys can help!
Thanks in advance!

You would be better off getting a cheap DVM than trying to build this idea, for a one time 1 second use.