Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

1 H-Bridge to control Multiple Actuators

Status
Not open for further replies.

patpatpat

I am trying to use 1 H-bridge circuit to control 6 actuators. Is it possible?

I know how H-bridge, BJT, MOSFET, and stuff work. I am a undergraduate EE senior, so I know a bit :)

Thanks for the help!

Pat

YOu can if the H-bridge is big enough to handle the combined load of all the motors. THey will also do the exact same thing (no different movements between motors). YOu just wire them all in parallel and wire the whole thing as a single load to the H-bridge.

I want to control them independently. I know I can make them all move the same way.

It doesnt seem like what I want can be done.

Then no, if you need to do anything with them independently (either moving them, or even using independent feedback to control them as one) then no, you cannot.

You could use something like a giant mux (double throw, or single-throw with all the motors having a single common ground connection). BUt this would be a very big, very high power mux that you woudl have to manually build. By the time you finished (especially if it's a solid state mux), then you'd have pretty much built an H-bridge that MUST be cascaded into your original H-bridge. You might as well just build 5 more H-bridges.

And it would not stop the motors that aren't being controlled form drooping and losing position.