Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PWM definitios help ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

max_imum2000

hello
since i am new to PWM, i need someone please explain these datails as much as possible.

1. PWM Time base.
2. PWM resolution.
3. PWM frequancy calculation (how to know the best frequancy to drive my dc motor for example?)
4. what is complmentry PWM ?

links will be appricated as wel

thank you very much

1. PWM Time-base is the clock source around which all other PWM timings are based. Its the clock that clocks all PWM operations.

2. PWM resolution is how accurately you can set the PWM duty cycle. It determines the "minimum increment" of on/off time for the PWM duty cycle. The more bits you have, the more accurately you can set the duty cycle. For a given IC, this available PWM resolution changes with PWM frequency and other factors.