1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

InterCom / Door Phone

Discussion in 'Electronic Projects Design/Ideas/Reviews' started by Non89, Nov 11, 2010.

  1. Non89

    Non89 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes:
    0
    ok ... i can learn for more ^^
     
  2. Dragon Tamer

    Dragon Tamer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    848
    Likes:
    5
    Location:
    Landenberg, Pennsylvania USA
    I'm sorry, I can't tell if that's a yes or no. I'll post the schematic anyway.

    The RFID card reader is a Parallax serial RFID reader like this one: RFID Card Reader Serial
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Boncuk

    Boncuk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    5,382
    Likes:
    88
    Location:
    Phetchabun,Thailand
    I changed the original design to have P1 on the master PCB only since familiar persons will operate the device. The slave has two fixed value resistors (R10 and R11) to set the volume.

    Turning the volume pot all the way down there won't be anything audible.

    Boncuk
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Boncuk

    Boncuk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    5,382
    Likes:
    88
    Location:
    Phetchabun,Thailand

    You asked for more connections to connect the intercom to the sound card of your PC!

    Boncuk
     
  6. Non89

    Non89 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes:
    0
    no need connect to pc , so i just follow the 1st circuit enough ?
     
  7. audioguru

    audioguru Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    32,443
    Likes:
    935
    Location:
    Canada, of course!
    The intercom will feed all kinds of nasty noises from outdoors into the home.
    Dogs barking, cats fighting, motorcycles, trucks and jet airplanes.

    I think it should be turned off when it is not being used and be turned on by the person outdoors pressing the doorbell button. Then the master can turn it off when the communication is finished.
     
  8. Boncuk

    Boncuk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    5,382
    Likes:
    88
    Location:
    Phetchabun,Thailand
    At this time it will probably also feed the lovely voices of angels singing Christmas songs. :)
     
  9. Non89

    Non89 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes:
    0

    ya ..... but the intercom not having a "privacy switch" which is function as a POWER ON/OFF of the intercom??
     
  10. Non89

    Non89 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes:
    0
    i went to shop viewed , i dunno whether inside got shielded or not , and the shopkeeper dunno, got any out look to showing me ??

    and is the cable using is audio cable ?? but what i found is just have 2 wire inside
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2010
  11. Boncuk

    Boncuk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    5,382
    Likes:
    88
    Location:
    Phetchabun,Thailand
    The circuit I suggested doesn't have a POWER ON/OFF switch. Without a POWER ON/OFF switch you'll have the advantage of listening to outdoor voices. Just your own voice won't be heard when the switch is in the "SILENT" position.

    Boncuk
     
  12. Non89

    Non89 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes:
    0
    :p

    so i can add On/Off switch on master circuit??
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2010
  13. audioguru

    audioguru Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    32,443
    Likes:
    935
    Location:
    Canada, of course!
    If you turn it off then you won't hear that there is somebody at the door unless you have a doorbell.
     
  14. Non89

    Non89 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes:
    0
    audioguru , how about RCA cable use for tv , is this shielded?
     
  15. Boncuk

    Boncuk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    5,382
    Likes:
    88
    Location:
    Phetchabun,Thailand
    52 posts for a simple problem like that goes over my mind. (It's almost killing me). :mad:

    I'm out!

    Boncuk
     
  16. audioguru

    audioguru Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    32,443
    Likes:
    935
    Location:
    Canada, of course!
    A cable with an RCA plug on each end is used for each channel of audio from a TV to an amplifier and the cable is shielded. But it might be too short for an intercom.
     
  17. Non89

    Non89 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes:
    0
    that mean i can using it on the intercom , the length is ok , i need to try 1st
     
  18. Non89

    Non89 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes:
    0

    sorry , boncuk ....dont leave , i still need your help too....
     
  19. Non89

    Non89 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes:
    0
    AC or DC used in the intercom ??
     
  20. Boncuk

    Boncuk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    5,382
    Likes:
    88
    Location:
    Phetchabun,Thailand
    Just guess if +12V should be AC or DC.
     
  21. Non89

    Non89 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes:
    0
    should be DC :p
     

Share This Page