Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Fishin boat aerator timer

Status
Not open for further replies.

GT1000000

Hey,
New NOOB here. I want to make a timer circuit, that I can waterproof, to control the on-off cycle of a 12 volt DC, 3 amp or less motor.
It is the aerator pump for the livewell of a fishing boat. I would like to be able to have the pump come on for 30 seconds-2 minutes, then shut off for about 5-15 minutes.
As far as waterproofing, I intend to seal it up in silicone caulking or some such material. Even though it probably won't get wet, it is in a boat and the possibility always exists... :)
Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions.
BTW, I know a little something, something about electronics, but only as a dummy.
Please, dumb down your explanations, although if you link me to a circuit diagram, I can follow that pretty much OK.
I would also like to keep the whole thing under 2 inches square, if possible.
gus

Once again, this problem can be solved with a simple but reliable 555 timer circuit. It will easily run off of the 12V DC you supply to it and can controll the motor using an external current booster like a relay or a MOSFET.

I have attached a circuit that can illistrate the principal to you. The circuit will change states once every 7 to 8 minutes there about and the relation to on off time can be adjusted with the pot connceted to pin 5.

Sorry for the slopieness of the circuit, I didn't have any CAD programs to make it so I did it with MS paint isntad.