1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Electronic Door Lock keypad with Arduino

Discussion in 'Arduino' started by StealthRT, Sep 13, 2012.

  1. StealthRT

    StealthRT Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes:
    1
    Hey all i have a project i am interested in doing. It involves an Arduino and a Kwikset 909 Smartcode Electronic Deadbolt. I am looking to program the Arduino to mimic me pushing the keypad on the deadbolt face so that it will unlock using my cell phone, webpage, etc etc since the Arduino will be hooked up using the Ethernet Shield to a web server at the house.

    The image of the deadbolt unit is this:
    [​IMG]

    Problem being is that i do not know how to go about using the arduino to "push" the buttons since they seem to have 2 digits per button. Also, how would i go about wiring them up so that i only have to use one ground wire for each button so it minimizes the wiring i'll have to use?

    Is this possible? What would the wires to each button need to be? Positive or negative to trigger the button?
     
  2. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,315
    Likes:
    1,230
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    Are there also two switches per button?
    Does that unit contain any electronics?
     
  3. StealthRT

    StealthRT Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes:
    1
    Ok i will be picking this lock up today so i will be sure to post images of the housing and electronic board to better give a visual as to what all i need to do.

    I guess i could hook up to the relay but i am not sure if their software checks for anything and locks it out if the keypad is not used or what not?
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. dr pepper

    dr pepper Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,755
    Likes:
    258
    Location:
    North west UK

    Embedded controler applications often have multiplexed keypads, there is a common for every row and a common for every column, the micro scans the pad to see which if any button has been pressed.

    Being only a 6 button pad you might be lucky and each button may have its own connection to the micro and have a common ground, check the traces, the unit may still have a multiplexed keypad, esp if the same software is used on other products which is often the case.
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2012
  6. StealthRT

    StealthRT Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes:
    1
    What i plan to do with it is this:

    Create an Android App that runs in the background and after 5pm it checks every 3 minutes the GPS lat & long of my position and when I'm around the house it will send a command to the server and it will unlock the door before i get to it from my driveway.

    I just wanted to make sure i would be able to mod the deadbolt first since i have not seen any Google listing s for the model i will be purchasing.
     
  7. KeepItSimpleStupid

    KeepItSimpleStupid Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,964
    Likes:
    1,099
    I would guess that pushing longer activates the second number and possibly the "beep" response is different if there is one.
     
  8. StealthRT

    StealthRT Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes:
    1
    Just an update... I haven't forgotten about doing the pictures. Just been busy moving in to the new home. Will get those done tonight!
     
  9. dr pepper

    dr pepper Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,755
    Likes:
    258
    Location:
    North west UK
    Know exactly how you feel there, I moved 2 weeks back, stuff everywhere.
    My 'shop is still in boxes.
    My engineering stuff filled a 4.5 ton truck full.
     
  10. StealthRT

    StealthRT Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes:
    1
    Back to the drawing board....
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2012
  11. 3v0

    3v0 Coop Build Coordinator Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    9,404
    Likes:
    227
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA USA
    The keyless entry on my wife's car has 2 numbers on each button but they are just the one switch. Pushing 135 is the same as pushing 246.
     
  12. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,315
    Likes:
    1,230
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    S1 is a 4-bit switch, suggesting there are only sixteen combinations the lock can be set to. Is that the case?
     
  13. StealthRT

    StealthRT Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes:
    1
    Sorry again for the delay! Moving into a new home and having boxes everywhere kinda slows down the process of modding stuff.

    I should have some time today to test out the motor and see if it reverses and also what voltages it uses.
     
  14. StealthRT

    StealthRT Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes:
    1
    deleted to start over...
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2012
  15. StealthRT

    StealthRT Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes:
    1
    Well I applied 5v to those 2 pins and whatcha know it... yeah you guessed it.

    :/
     
  16. 3v0

    3v0 Coop Build Coordinator Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    9,404
    Likes:
    227
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA USA
    Could be that there are some fixed bits/digits in the combination. Sort of like they do with I2C chips.
     
  17. StealthRT

    StealthRT Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes:
    1
    Hum well i went ahead and bought this one for now (LockState LS-DB500R-RB [​IMG]). I will be ordering another replacement again sometime soon and will update this post when i have! :)
     
  18. kiosk

    kiosk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes:
    0
    I was also given the same requirement by my professor but the difference is that I will use a keypad, arduino and an LED display. Any idea how to do it? please reply
     
  19. 3v0

    3v0 Coop Build Coordinator Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    9,404
    Likes:
    227
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA USA
    Break the problem down. Pick one part and get it working then move on to the next.
    I am sure you can find ardunio tutorials for each part.
    When you have each bit working combine them.

    To tell you much more would rob you of the learning experience. Aka waste the money you are using to attend the uni.
     
  20. kiosk

    kiosk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes:
    0
    View attachment 67881

    i found this on the internet. my problem now is how to put the LCD display because my microcontroller has limited inputs.
     
  21. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,869
    Likes:
    144
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    You can use the analog pins as digital
     

Share This Page