Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

College Degree: A Complete Waste so far

Status
Not open for further replies.

DigiTan

Well, I finally finished up the engineering program, and so far I've gotta say the 5 years in college was a complete of time and money. I doubt my diploma's worth whatever paper it's printed on.

I graduated in December and started sending out resumes a few months before that. I was really banking on this being a turning point in my life so I might actually enjoy myself for once. The GPA wasn't great (2.66), but I was told it wasn't terrible. Plus I had 35 college projects in my name and enough practical/internship experience to find a respectable EE job...so they said. At first, I saw the unemployment as an opportunity to catch up on reading, exercise, and other projects. And in the meantime, I sent out at least 60 more resumes, contacted people, did job fairs, and added 3 more personal references.

It's been 3 months now and I've only gotten 2 serious resume replies. One already said no. I know I've had trouble finding work before, and being a minority automatically cuts my opportunities down to half. But this is going too far. So far, the only promising offers available are $8/hour retail or fast food jobs.