Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What size Potentiometer?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi

Looking for theoretical advice on how to choose the right size potentiometer for a project.

I have a master clock that runs 3 external slaves and it's internal slave and normally if I were adding extra slaves to the the series circuit I would up the supply voltage by 1v per 3ohm coil on each slave and just keep adding on where required.

Now I want to add a relay box into the circuit where the relays within box are also in series with the slaves.This relay box will have it's own power supply for the external devices going to say 4 relays and I need some form of control to the amount of supply going to the external devices the relays are switching. I'm thinking of using Potentiometers for that purpose but I'm not sure about the size required. I will need to adjust between say 3 and 20+v. Normally within my master are old rheostats but I'm not sure about picking these up these days.

Any advice on the potentiometers size and other methods will be great.

Regards

Mark,

what, exactly, is any given potentiometer powering? Your description is hard to follow. Can you supply a diagram?

Still need a better explanation of what you are trying to do. What is the volage and current to these "slaves"? Is that AC or DC?

Mark,

what, exactly, is any given potentiometer powering? Your description is hard to follow. Can you supply a diagram?

Hi Mike

Unfortunately not got a diagram yet.