Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Voice control to replace foot pedal on laser welder

Status
Not open for further replies.

Veebs

Complete newbie here (so don’t come for me please if I’m in the wrong forum on the wrong website).

I’ve got a desktop Dado laser welder (good times).

The ‘fire’ command is controlled by the foot pedal (similar to a micromotor or sewing machine).

This is all fine if you are sitting down. I have a spine problem (bad times) which means I suffer intense pain if I try to work sitting down.

I can use one hand to push the foot pedal standing up but often I need two hands and using the foot pedal standing up causes too much hip instability (also painful).

Anyway, tech heads, is there a way to create something to replace the foot pedal with a voice controller. So I could just say ‘fire’ to fire the laser. Failing that a voice controlled lever which could then push the foot pedal.

I don’t know about circuits and resistors but I’m nerdy enough to be willing to learn.

If I’m in the wrong part of the internet and you know where I can find the right part of the internet please let me know! Cheers and thanks!

I would imagine it's possible - even 'just' writing an Alexa skill to do it - but I would suggest it's a very bad idea, poor control, and poor reliability. A mechanical switch is tough and reliable, a voice activated circuit could fire accidentally very easily.