Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Visual Basic Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

elec123

Hi,

I am new to using Visual Basic and am having a few problems, and help would be greatly received:

The data is attached. (lena.xls is the spreadsheet with the data of the image and Book1 is this data viewed in notepad). Also attached is the pciture converted into grey scale.

The digital numbers for this image are contained in the file lena.xls. They are values that potentially range from 0 to 255, with lighter areas of the image having higher values. For example, the white of the right eye is approximately 1/3 of the way across the image and 1/3 of the way down. In this region of the excel file you should see some of the highest values for the digital numbers.

I have extracted the data for the grey scale image and is contained within lena.xls (attached) From this I have put the data into notepad and saved it as a .pgm file which i can then open in paint shop pro to view the image from the data.

The problem on the image is that the edges-because the computer will place the Sobel filter at the appropriate cell and will then look for values to the side, which may be off the edge of the worksheet.

To prevent this I have cloned the edge pixel so the sobel filter includes the edge of the original picture.

I am now having difficulties with these two tasks:

Algorithm